Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (3) - Games (1)

Portrayal of Microsoft & Bill Gates as evil

Posted : 8 years, 5 months ago on 11 May 2009 01:13 (A review of Antitrust)

Fairly fun movie to watch for a Linux geek since all the computers in this film are running GNOME and it is very easy to draw parallels between the fictional company in the film and Microsoft. As just a movie without the watcher having that interest it isn't that good though.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Poor adaptation

Posted : 9 years, 3 months ago on 3 July 2008 05:20 (A review of The Golden Compass)

A poorly made mess of a movie that attempts to stuff far too much into the length than possible and still doesn't even begin to get very interesting. No identifiable wounds from any sort of fighting for the supposed benefit of the children either.

On the positive side the world it portrays seems rather fascinating and the actors and the realization of this alternate universe are fairly well done. I'm sure reading the books is a far more enjoyable experience.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Interesting for two thirds of the runtime

Posted : 9 years, 3 months ago on 29 June 2008 08:09 (A review of Flightplan)

The movie leads us to believe that there is a big mystery behind all the unexplained things that seem to be happening to the lead character played by Jodie Foster. After a long time of building the suspense a lame explanation is revealed and the movie plummets, betraying the viewer and not even bothering to tie up all loose threads left behind.

It's a shame because it's a very atmospheric and promising movie up until that point. The director sets a dreamy mood with technological surroundings filled with brushed steel, fluorescent lamps and soft shades of green. This part can still be enjoyed but the plot itself disappoints so badly that I cannot really call this a good movie.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An eye-opening experience

Posted : 9 years, 5 months ago on 25 April 2008 02:19 (A review of Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes)

I have never played the original so I cannot compare this excellent remake version for the Gamecube to that but if you are looking for an introduction to the series, this game is probably the best you can get. Silicon Knights has done a good job with upgrading the classic even if Snake looks a little softer than he does in MGS2 and Ruyhei Kitamura's (a japanese film director friend of Kojima) interpretation of the cutscenes might even be superior to Kojima's own work in my opinion, but some see it as a bit too much over the top.

The reason that this remake of the first game in the Metal Gear Solid series is, in my opinion, the best introduction to the series is that the plot is not as hard to understand as MGS2 was.

The story is a more traditional action-movie type affair but has it's share of suprises and the philosophical message that is essential to all MGS games.

That alone is to be applauded because I can't think of many games outside of the MGS series trying to actually convey a message and that alone is a reason to get to know this series.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block